Florida’s texting while driving law goes into effect today
July 1, 2019 (treasurecoast.com) -Starting today, texting while driving could get you pulled over in Florida. Gov. Ron DeSantis signed a bill last month that makes texting while driving in Florida a primary traffic offense punishable by fines.
A first offense is punishable by a $30 fine, with a second costing $60 and 3 points added to your license.
As of right now, it’s illegal to text and drive in the state of Florida. Texting and driving is now a primary offense, meaning authorities can pull you over if they see you texting while the car is in motion. Martin County Sheriff William Snyder says his deputies will allow for a short grace period, where they will offer warnings before issuing tickets.
Violators will be hit with a $30 fine for a first offense, plus whatever other fees counties want to tack on. A second offense is a $60 fine plus 3 points added to your license. However, drivers will still be able to speak on the phone while driving, and can continue to use the GPS function on their phones. Some, like the St. Pete police department, believe enforcing this law will be difficult.
And drivers are under no obligation to hand their phones to officers during a traffic stop, and officers are not even allowed to ask for your phone to see if you were texting.