Discover the Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse and Museum with Florida Family Insiders
Where are they today? Florida Family Insiders are on a delightful adventure at the Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse and Museum. Come along for the tour. Learn the history of the lighthouse, visit the gift shop, and experience the breathtaking views. I hope you’re not afraid of heights!
What would you like to see from Florida Family Insiders?
Discover more Florida fun here – Florida Family Insiders … A Travel Vlog
Here’s a tidbit of history from the Loxahatchee River Historical Society
Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse Construction
Soon after the lighthouse was authorized, engineers discovered that a storm had closed the inlet. The inside waters became stagnant, breeding malaria. All construction materials would have to be brought down the Indian River in small, shallow-draft barges from the nearest inlet near Fort Pierce.
The first work crew was sent in late 1855 but had to immediately return home due to the outbreak of the Third Seminole War. Work finally got underway in January 1859, but the climate and logistical difficulties caused construction to proceed slowly. Work was temporarily halted that summer with the lighthouse far from complete.
Construction resumed in January 1860. The majority of work on the 108-foot lighthouse, adjacent oil house, and keepers’ house were completed in five months. The tower was officially lighted on July 10, 1860.
The Civil War
After the onset of the American Civil War, assistant keeper Augustus Lang and other local Confederate sympathizers disabled the light, which remained dark throughout the war. The inlet reopened naturally in 1862, allowing it to be used by Confederate blockade runners operating between Florida and the Bahamas. Union gunboats patrolled offshore and sent rowed cutters into the Indian River.
Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse was relighted on June 28, 1866. It has remained an active aid to navigation ever since. James Armour, who had helped the Union Navy recover parts and supplies removed from the lighthouse during the war, was one of the new keepers. In 1869, he was promoted to Head Keeper. Armour did not retire until 1906 – a remarkable 40 years of service as our lighthouse keeper. Captain Armour’s Way is named in his honor.